Menu
Publications

Minimum Wage Increases in January 2020

By Taylor M. Dewberry and Susan Milner Parrott
01.08.2020

As of January 1, 2020, minimum wage increases will affect employers in numerous states and localities. Under the federal Fair Labor Standards Act, the minimum wage for non-exempt employees remains at $7.25 per hour, but if a state or local law provides for a higher minimum wage than the federal law requires, employers subject to that state or local law must pay the higher rate.  North Carolina’s minimum wage remains $7.25 per hour.

The state minimum wage increases that are effective as of January 1, 2020 and the new minimum rate per hour are: 

State

Rate Per Hour

Alaska

$10.19

Arizona

$12.00

Arkansas

$10.00

California

$12.00[1] and $13.00[2]

Colorado

$12.00

Florida

$8.56

Illinois

$9.25

Maine

$12.00

Maryland

$11.00

Massachusetts

$12.75

Michigan

$9.65

Minnesota

$10.00

Missouri

$9.45

Montana

$8.65

New Jersey

$11.00

New Mexico

$9.00

New York

$11.80

Ohio

$8.70

South Dakota

$9.30

Vermont

$10.96

Washington

$13.50


Additionally, a number of localities across the country have implemented minimum wage rates higher than the federal minimum wage. 

Employers should continue to be aware of wage rate changes and should monitor their pay practices in each of their locations to ensure compliance with all applicable wage and hour laws.  Employers should also ensure that employees receive any required notices regarding a change in wage rate.

If you have any questions, please contact the Smith Anderson lawyer with whom you normally work.


[1] For employers with 25 employees or fewer.

[2] For employers with 26 employees or more.

Media Information

Jamie Greene
jgreene@smithlaw.com
T: 919.838.2045

Sign Up to Receive Updates and Alerts

Interested in Learning More?

Contact Us ›

Back to Page